The race for speed. (the quest for greater density and speed in memories) Electronic Engineering Times, n503A (Sept, 1988):49 (3 pages).

Abstract: Profiles and achievements of several outstanding individuals who made important contributions to the evolution of faster and denser memories are presented. These include Karl-Ulrich Stein, who pioneered single-transistor memory cells; Bob Dennard, who developed a theory of scaling; David Patterson, Mike Blasgen, and John Hennessy, who advanced RISC technology; Iann Barron, who pioneered parallel processing; Lynn Conway, who formalized VLSI design; George Perlegos, who advanced EPROM technology; and John Birkner, who achieved a breakthrough in programmable logic.